Egypt Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  4.1

"It was pretty good experience"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Casey M. of florida, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel staff was the best in egypt,my room was spacious and clean.They offer many free services like drinks&Wifi etc . The african hostel located in a pretty old building.

"African House Hostel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Jurgen G. of Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 21, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed there on and off for 6 days. Staff was great, but we did not like them 'trying to sell us tours or taxis', when all we wanted was info on how to get to the museum, pyramids etc. by bus or train.

Remembering that the hostel is in central Cairo, where few speak English, it was difficult to find. One sign was up on the third floor in a side street and rusted, the other one in similar condition by the front door. As a result we missed it twice.

The 'pillows' on the hard beds were as hard as rock and the toilet / shower was well below budget standard. The toilet cistern did not work (water was running continously), one hand basin did not drain properly, filling up just by trying to clean your teeth and the other hand basin spilled all the water straight onto your feet or floor and it had a tap handle missing.

When asking for directions to a certain place, you are given a small, business card size map. Be aware though that the little map is symbolic only and does not represent the actual lay-out of the streets or distances.

All those little things can be fixed in a flash and at little cost, but they were not. This is a shame as it caused us and others some serious frustrations. May be the owner does not need to care? May be the hostel gets enough bookings as it is?

"African House Hostel"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Ella M. of East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 17, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Big, colourful, clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. We returned for an extra nights stay the following week and would definitely stay there again, should we ever return to Cairo.

"Good staff, basic facilities"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Grant F. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 16, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
On the plus side are definitely the friendly, helpful staff. On the other hand, if you are looking for luxury, try elsewhere.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are basic but clean enough, the communal room was tidy and clean if a little battered round the edges.

It's very close to the train station, easily walkable even with a fairt bit of luggage. The building that the hostel is in is quite incredible, though like many Cairo buildings would look unbelievable if it was just tidied up a bit.

I would quite happily stay here again.

"My time in Cairo"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Aukje M. of Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands
Reviewed:   February 22, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a really nice time in the African House Hostel. We had a nice room. The people that were working there were very nice.
My compliments for everything!

"Fully Booked after Reservation?"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Paul T. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 25, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After reserving a room on the internet, I was a little suspicious when I was told the hotel was full, and was directed to another hotel owned by the same family instead. I think that perhaps they were honest, but it was already 3am and I was tired. After a hot 20 minute walk across town I stayed at the Richmond hotel. I don't think that the deposit I paid on the internet came off my paying price. It is a cheap priced hotel, and perfect for backpackers.

The staff Richmond Hotel staff (that belong to the African House) were very friendly and courteous, unlike hotel staff at other places I stayed in Egypt. The staff worked tirelessly at short notice to organise a very reasonably priced tour of Dashur and Saqqara. For this alone I recommend them.

"nice hostel in cairo..check it out!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Yona M. of frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   January 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Africainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we are many friends travelling all over the world,so we have booked there in african hostel 5 rooms with total 16 persons...Our rooms was clean and nice with so thoughtful sunny rays,so quite and so helpful staff .We recommend them highly.

"So fantastic!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Glen E. of LA, United States
Reviewed:   November 24, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have stayed here 3 nights in a double room ensuite and it was wonderful,they changed sheets and pillows covers everyday and free WIFI in rooms was great! The staff were so helpful and gave us so accurate infos about cairo .We have booked a tour with them to the oases and was great.High recommended.

"disappointed"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Pawland S. of Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed:   October 29, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I booked 2 DBL rooms via instantworldbooking . On the spot I found 1 room for 4 pers. It'd not be so bad if we had 4 REAL beds instead of 2 normal ones and 2 child beds.. Besides we had water in the bathroom but... only in washbasin.. There was no water in the shower. We asked to repair it.. In 2 hours they reported: everything is fine! OK, I put myself into shower, turned on the tap and jumped out swearing - water was boiled!! No cold water at all, only hot, really hot one!! Shortly speaking this is not what I supposed to find in even fairly good hostel anywhere in Egypt...


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




EgyptInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us