Egypt Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.1

"Affordable and authentic."

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Philip M. of Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewed:   August 9, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hotel is authentically Nubian - which inludes and exceeds its Egyptian-ness. In a year of very low visitor numbers we were the only guests, but did not feel at all uncomfortable. We were well-treated by the young manager, who was knowledgeable, eloquent and accommodating. The other staff, in particular the chef, also deserve credit; the food was fresh, varied and delicious. The room and beds were very clean and comfortable, and the shared bathrooms (though private for us we had one each!)were more than adequate for the price. The decor throughout is colourful and attractive in particular the roof terrace from which there are fantastic views of the Nubian desert and the Nile, only seconds walk away. This is a peaceful location to spend a few days, although the frequent public ferry to the East bank is readily available, should you wish to see the main city of Aswan.

The hotel's website offers a "menu" of trips and activities that can be recommended. We had an authentic-feeling camel trip into the desert, visited ancient rock-cut tombs, visited Philae temple and the High Dam, and had a delightful felucca trip on the Nile. Apparently, these trips are also available to non-residents. However, if organising custom-made trips or combining two menu-style trips, you will make things simpler by finalising the price beforehand. As with the price of the room and the food, prices were very reasonable, but a genuine misunderstanding in this regard caused unnecessary embarrassment for ourselves our host. In addition, some activities described as workshops (music and cooking) were more brief performances/demonstrations; enjoyable, but not something you will learn skills from.

But this last observation should not deter you from staying here. After several days of relentless activity and the relative crowds of Luxor, the tranquility and friendliness of the Bet-el Kerem and its beautiful surroundings were delightful.

"Bet El Kerem"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   S K. of Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed:   May 10, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastic guesthouse in a village on the west bank. Very relaxing and friendly feel.

"Very friendly guest house on the peaceful West Bank"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Claire W. of LONDON, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really enjoyed my stay at Bet-El-Kerem. The people who run the guest house are very friendly and really make you feel at home. They are also very helpful if you want to book trips and activities in and around the Aswan area.

The highlight for me was the lovely roof terrace which has great views out over the Nile and the Tombs of the Nobles. An excellent place to enjoy the sunset before the delicious, freshly prepared meals are served.

"Loved it!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Richard T. of London, England
Reviewed:   May 5, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Awesome place. Staff were incredible and so warm and welcoming.
Fantastic!!

"interesting place and location, shame about some of the service."

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Ewan D. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 9, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice location in Aswan (opposite side of the Nile to town - so you will need to take lots of ferries). Good public spaces. Basic rooms. Poor showers.

Good rooftop lounge.

Dinner very expensive, not great value.

Staff pushed excursions and tours excessively, we became uncomfortable sitting in the public areas because of this.

Staff also quibbled over the final bill, showing bad manners even when eventually accepting their error.

Potentially good venue overshadowed by poor staff management.

"Bet el karem"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Gregoire V. of Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed:   March 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My wife, daughter (2 and a half year old) and myself stayed there at the end of january and I really recommend it. The staff is more than helpful, the food is delicious and the owner is so generous it is hard to describe here. The setting is beautiful and quiet....we will go back!

"Aswan,Bet El Kerem"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Irina S. of Saratov, Russia
Reviewed:   February 17, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Получили огромное удовольствие от посещения Асуана.Замечательный городок с великолепным нубийским музеем и другими интересными достопримечательностями.Провели 3 ночи в гестхаузе Bet El Kerem.С удивлением узнали,что мы первые русские туристы,кто остановился здесь.Переправа на другой берег на пароме не представляет ни каких сложностей.
Комнаты очень "скромные"-2 кровати,небольшой сервант,2 стула и маленький стол.Кажется,все...Перегородки между комнатами очень тонкие,слышимость стопроцентная.Мы уходили в 9.00 и приходили в 19.00,а поздно вечером засыпали "без задних ног".
Душ и туалет на этаже,довольно чисто,горячая вода.Есть туалетная бумага,но нет мыла.В гестхаузе,кажется 9 комнат,проблем с очередью в общественные места не было :-).
Обстановка доброжелательная,Елена и Абдин свободно говорят на нескольких языках(кроме русского:-),вкусная еда.Имейте в виду,что расчет идет в евро.Завтрак входит в стоимость номера,ужин стоил 5 евро на каждого,а заказанный обед специально для нас в день отъезда-по 7 евро с человека.Напитки:чай,минеральная вода в течении дня-бесплатно.
Покупали в гестхаузе тур в Абу-Симбел и на острова Калабша и Фили, остались довольны.Впечатления от храмов необыкновенные.
Без всяких проблем оставили в день отъезда наши вещи,затем вернувшись,приняли душ,пообедали (причем обед приготовили по нашей просьбе именно для нас).Подводя итог,можно сказать,что гестхаузе Bet El Kerem-это общежитие,но вполне приличное.
Спасибо.До новых встреч.Ирина и Владимир.

We have taken great pleasure from visiting of Aswan. There is a small town with a magnificent nubian museum and other interesting sights. We spent 3 nights in Bet El Kerem.
Room was very "modest"-2 beds, a small sideboard, 2 chairs and a small table. It seems to me, that`s all... The bathroom was clean and shared (we knew about it before) with toilet paper, but without a soap.
The breakfast is included in the price for the room, the price for dinner cwas 5 euros for 1 person, and the dinner which was ordered specially for us in the day of our departure- 7 euros for 1 person. The mineral water,tea during day were free.
We bought in Bet El Kerem two tours (to Abu-Simbel and to islands Kalabsha and Fili) and we were pleased from our trips.
Without any problems we left our luggage in last day then returned to Bet El Kerem, taken a shower and had still dinner.
So,Bet El Kerem is a quite good hostel with friendly and helpful staff.

Thank you. Our best wishes. Irina and Vladimir.

"beit el karen"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Paul B. of london, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 13, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
You will receive a very friendly welcome at this smalll hotel. I had a bright room but as there was only a wooden partition between my room and the next, sounds travelled through from the next room. There are two shower rooms available which was not a problem as there were only 7 people staying at the hotel. If the hotel had been full it mights have been different.
Meals were good and the evening meal was a sociable affair, taking place on the roof terrace.
Beit el karen is a bit expensive considering the limited facilities, but the memory is of the friendly and helpful staff, the pleasant location and meeting other travellers there. It is a different experience from most of the hotels that you will stay at.

"Our New Years Eve House"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lucia K. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   February 3, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We arrived at Nubian Guest House on December 30th 2010 and Ellen told us she was really sorry they were full, (we had booked in Sept) and would we mind staying in our own house?? A whole house for us - of course we said that we would not mind at all.

Nubian Guest House was that most fabulous experience of our 5 weeks holiday - my partner (he is from Austria) and I (I am from Australia) had met 25 years ago in Malawi African briefly as just fellow travellers and found each other on the internet 25 years later and he asked me if I wanted to come to Egypt and Ethiopia - I very nervously agreed. We ended up having the time of our lives, and are now lifelong partners. Our time in our own house at the Nubian Guest House over New Years Eve clinched it all for us and set the tone for the rest of our 5 week holiday. So thank so much Ellen and Achmed - your hospitality and kindness was just amazing - we will never forget you or our time in Asswan. Thank you.

Lucia

"Séjour de 2 nuits à Bet El Kerem"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Nat D. of Réunion, France
Reviewed:   February 2, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Un très bon accueil dans cette maison d'hôtes nubienne. Un patron extra, prévenant, très présent qui parle un peu toutes les langues. Le personnel est efficace. Les repas sont copieux et pris tous ensemble en terrasse sur le toit, avec une belle vue sur Aswan. Les chambres sont moyennes mais l'accueil compense largement. Seul endroit pendant nos deux semaines de séjour où la boisson est à volonté et gratuite ! C'est appréciable ! Organisation aussi de circuits et visites itéressants.
Bet El kerem se situe sur la rive opposée à Aswan, du côté calme, avec le désert à côté. Il faut prendre le bac local pour traverser (1 livre), c'est rapide et c'est l'occasion de parler avec les égyptiens.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 33 reviews  Next 10 results




EgyptInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us