Egypt Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.1

"Wonderful guest house in Nubia"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Patrick C. of Cambridgeshire, England
Reviewed:   April 18, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Just returned from a fortnights stay at Bet El Kerem. Thoroughly recommend this guest house. Staff are very attentive and the place is spotlessly clean. Good food prepared and served in rooftop restaurant which has superb views over the Nile and the desert. Hope to return in the future.

"Very nice stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Oliver S. of Oftringen, Switzerland
Reviewed:   March 14, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great stay in a very friendly and beautiful house.

"Excellent: I wish I'd stayed longer"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Michael R. of Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 23, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I thoroughly enjoyed my two-night stay at Bet el Kerem and left wishing I'd stayed longer in Aswan. The owner Abdel is very much in the "can't do enough for you" mould and was always anxious to help and to offer advice. My room was large and comfortable. Though a bit enclosed, the air-con was powerful and efficient, a necessary feature if staying in summer. The rooftop terrace was very pleasant and relaxing and the meals were tasty and ample. The Kerem is located just five minutes easy walk from the ferry station, whence there is an easy crossing to central Aswan.

"Great place!!!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Nanthawan A. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   December 27, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you are looking for a peaceful and a clean place with a very friendly and helpful owner, Bet El Kerem is the right place for you!!! The hotel has easy access to public boat transfer which brings you across the Nile river to city centre.

The hotel doesn't look luxurious but it's a real clean place!!! That said, you don't need to stay in a 5-star hotel to feel secure from dirts!

All staff are also VERY polite (which I was surprised judging from the Egyptian standard). Totally felt comfortable asking for their help.

"Wonderful Aswan"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Robert K. of San Jose, CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 22, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a wonderful time at Bet El Kerem. Mohammed and Abdullah were very helpful in setting up a trips for us and our son, who went to Abu Simbel (we were too lazy to get up at 2:30 a.m.!). We took the sleeper train from Cairo which was OK, but it might be better to fly, as we didn't sleep all that well on the train. I would recommend Bet El kerem. It is on the West Bank, so you do have to take a ferry to get to Aswan, but it is very quiet, and has an authentic feel.

"bet el Kerem"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Maarten A. of Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewed:   November 10, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
on the quiet side of the river Nile lies the rustique bel el kerem with a stunning roof terrace, friendly staff and nice activities. The pick-up from airport, the activities and dining is expensive though.

"Amazing hospitality - the highlight of our trip"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Bastien L. of Lyon, France
Reviewed:   September 10, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When sleeping on the west bank in Aswan, expect something very different from what you have been experiencing in Egypt.
This hotel sits next to a Nubian village, and is held by Nubians.
We had never felt so welcome in the rest of our trip.
We were taken to a walking tour in the palmtrees, then visited the village, had a sweet feluca trip on the Nile, and were even invited to a Nubian wedding on the day we arrived.
Abdul is the most dedicated hotel owner you will find, and the staff is very friendly. Meals are nothing but delicious, and every drink is for free, not so common in Egypt !

A great experience !

"Dlelightful local guest house in the west bank- a chance to expereince nubian life"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Clare R. of london, England
Reviewed:   January 26, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We only spent 24 hours in Bet El Kerem and were sad not to spend longer. Based on the West Bank away from the posh hotels but very close to the ferry the nubian hospitality is warm and atttentive. Life happens on the terrace from the chef in one corner producing fresh local food , the washer up in another and amazing views to the Tombs of the Nobles and the Nile. The rooms are very clean - the range of activites they can offer are to a high standard from the locals (we had a trip to the dams - a felucca sail and trip to the Botanic Gardens and an early mornig bird trip - with astounding reflections )The owners were both there and provided a very personal and knowledgeable service.This is not a luxury experience - but provides more enduring memories.

"The highlight of our trip to Egypt"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Mia V. of Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   November 5, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bet el Kerem was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip to Egypt. After all the hassle and overcrowded tourist locations this is really the place where you get what you want - to get in touch with the real Egypt. The staff at Bet el Kerem was fantastic, they even invited us to come along with them to experience a Nubian wedding in their village - an experience of a lifetime. Thanks, Bet el Kerem, we hope to be back one day.

"Truly Wonderful B&B"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lauren S. of Arlington, United States
Reviewed:   October 19, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at Bet El Kerem in October and was so pleased that we decided on this local gem rather than a large, impersonal resort. The location was easy to get to, and we found the West Bank to be far more relaxed and enjoyable than the hectic East Bank. The owner, Abdel, was very welcoming, and we enjoyed tea in their beautiful garden, in addition to lots of good advice on things to do in Aswan. The entire staff there was very friendly and easy to talk to. The views from the rooftop cafe are really great, and a perfect place for lounging after sunset. The food is also very tasty. I would highly recommend this place to travelers, and we were very glad we decided to go beyond the typical tourist sites in Luxor to enjoy a few slow, lazy days enjoying beautiful Aswan. I hope to come back someday.


1 - 10 of 31 reviews  Next 10 results




EgyptInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us